Look: Classic Old Hollywood Glamour!

Recently we’ve been studying the makeup and fashion of the 1940s for a film study on the film Casablanca. The film was made in 1942 and is set during the second world war, so the makeup throughout is beautiful and classic.

This is one of my favourite makeup styles and I thought I’d do an old Hollywood glamour style look today. The look is defined by flawless skin, structured brows, and a sultry but elegant eye with a little liner on the top.

DSC08174

This is what I came up with! Rita Hayworth is my idol, so her look definitely influenced the outcome. Her hair is always On Form so I tried to recreate something that resembled the soft wavy style she has going on below by curling my hair with curling tongs then brushing it through with a comb. Because my hair is so long and thick it didn’t really like holding curls so the effect wasn’t quite as intense!

As you can see below, I winged my liner out a little bit and did my brows a little darker than usual. In hindsight I could have done my brows a little thinner and my wing a little thicker, but I was pleased with the result I got.

I also brought a little dark brown through the crease and kept the lid bright and clean with the colour “Foxy” from the Naked2 Palette. As usual, I bring you a shot of my makeup way closer to my face than you might actually like to see:

DSC08184Overall, I had fun doing a pin-up style look and I think I’m going to go for a red lip more often! I love how bold and classic it looks.

lolWhat do you think of this look? I’d love to see some selfies if you guys have tried out the classic pin-up look too! Let me know in the comments!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Look: Classic Old Hollywood Glamour!

Leave a Comment

